She Shone Bright…

Using Daniel Pink’s theory that everyone needs a sentence to define their lives and their ambitions, I have taken on the  challenging task of composing my own sentence. This was a daunting assignment for me because I sheepishly avoid talking about the future and the whole what-do-I-want-to-be-when-I-grow-up thing. So to avoid having an anxiety attack, I decided that I would make this sentence more about the person I want to be and not so much about actual career goals. To begin formulating my sentence I turned to social media, as I used my Pinterest board that I try to stock full of un-cliché, inspirational quotes. As I scrolled through my pins, I began to notice a trend. Most of the typography and calligraphy quotes that I had pinned mentioned things such as “be bright,” and “leave a little sparkle wherever you go.” These images reflect my own desire to shine or standout as well as the joy I find in making other people feel confident and loved. Because these are ambitions for both my personal and professional life, I used the idea of being bright and making others feel special as the foundation for my sentence. Now, as I’m sure you are sitting on pins and needles waiting to read my sentence, here it is! I tried my best to make it pretty with my below-average handwriting:

IMG_8545

 The sentence highlights my main aspirations for life. I hope to shine. Not in a flashy obnoxious sense but in the way that people take notice when I walk into the room. I want my character and kindness to be a light in the lives of the people that I meet. Next, and arguably the most important, I wish to be happy. I understand that almost everyone would say they want to be happy but I included this common goal in my sentence to remind me the importance of my own happiness. It is easy for me to get caught up in pleasing everyone and caring too much about what other people think about me. So I have found that once in a while I need to check in with myself and remember that I am the one who has to live my life, and ultimately, I am the one who needs to be happy. Of course, I had to include my plans to dress my best! I am in a strong believer in dressing for success. Lastly, I ended my sentence with my passion to help others feel loved or special. I want to help people shine too!  When I was younger, I wanted to be a stylist and one of the many reasons I chose this career path was because I enjoy sharing my love of clothing with other people and using fashion to make a person feel confident was one way I could make people sparkle. My fashion career plans have evolved since then and now the dream is to be an editor or creative director. I am not sure on the specifics, but I know that I can use any career or job to love, help, and encourage others. 

I am both delighted and anxious to share my sentence but I look forward to using it as a tool in my professional and personal lives. 

What is your sentence? Feel free to comment/reply with yours and I will be happy to read it!

xx Abby 

This entry was published on September 9, 2014 at 3:12 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

