DIY Christmas Banner

One of my many goals for this Christmas break was to “be crafty.” Naturally I turned to my own DIY Pinterest board for some crafts that I knew I couldn’t mess up too badly. Looking at this board you would think that I make garlands/banners like all the time because I have so many pinned, but truthfully, I have only made one garland before this. So I decided to make one for Christmas. I found this pin of DIY glitter banners a while back and had originally planned on re-creating one for my dorm room. Now I made it my own for Christmas. Below is a step-by-step demonstration on how I made it. I got all my supplies at Michaels. If you’re reading this and its too late to make one for Christmas, I suggest doing the same for New Years or any other occasion. Enjoy and Merry Christmas!!

IMG_9314

IMG_9331

IMG_9339

IMG_9355

IMG_9362

 What You’ll Need:  

  • Glitter Paper – I got mine in the scrapbooking section
  • Printed Out Letters
  • Scissors
  • Pencil
  • Hole punch
  • Yarn
  • Washi Tape

Step One: 

Print off the letters that you will need for your banner. Mine spell out “Merry Christmas.” You can use whatever font you like. I used Arial because it was simple. You also want a very large font. I used size 300.

Step Two:

Now cut out all of the letters individually. I chose not to cut out the insides of letters “A” and “R.”

Step Three: 

Trace you printed out letters backwards onto the back of your glitter paper. I used a pencil to outline the letters. I also tried to put the letters as close together as I could in order to use my glitter paper wisely.

Step Four: 

Now cut out the letters that you just traced onto the glitter paper.

Step Five:

Use your hole-punch to punch two holes into each letter. This is where you will string the yarn through. The “I” was a bit tricky because it was so tiny. I punched two holes very close to each other and one went to far and left a hole on one side of the “I.” So when I went to string the “I” I placed a small piece of tape on the back to better secure the “I” to the yarn.

Step Six:

Sting your letters onto your yarn. I chose yarn because it helps hold the letters in place better than ribbon. You cold also use twine. I didn’t want the yarn to be in front of the letters so I strung the phrase backwards, staring with the “S” at the end of “Christmas” and ending with the “M” in “Merry.”

Step Seven: 

Hang your banner/garland wherever you like! I used some glitter Washi tape in an “X” to hold mine

IMG_9379

This entry was published on December 25, 2014 at 1:09 am. It’s filed under Christmas, Craft, Decor, DIY, Home and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

